Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Finance Committee (CC-704)

Next Session FC - 188th Session - 8-12 November 2021
FC - 187th Session - 28-29 October 2021
Previous Sessions and documents FC - 186th Session - 7-9 June 2021
FC - 185th Session - 22-26 March 2021
See more...
Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article V


Established as the "Committee on Financial Control" (CFC) by a Resolution of the Conference at its Third Session (1947) as successor to the Sub-Committee on Finance. In 1958, the name was changed to Finance Committee. Its size and structure were modified by the Conference at its Thirty-sixth Session in 2009 (Resolution 6/2009, C?2009/REP, para. 140).

Rules of Procedure

See Basic Texts, Vol. I -?Section F, Rules of Procedure of the Finance Committee

Category Cat.1

To assist the Council in exercising control over the financial administration of the Organization. Its functions are set out in Rule XXVII of the General Rules of the Organization. The Finance Committee holds concurrent sessions with the Programme Committee during the second year of the biennium (Rule XXVIII of the General Rules of the Organization), and sometimes also in the first year.

Secretary, Finance Committee Mr David McSherry

Representatives of 12 Member Nations and a Chairperson elected by the Council from specific regions as determined by the Conference for the purpose of Council elections. Members of the Committee shall appoint as their representatives individuals who have shown a continued interest in the objectives and activities of the Organization, have participated in Conference or Council sessions and have special competence and experience in administrative and financial matters. Members of the Committee are elected for a period of two years at the session of the Council following the regular session of the Conference and they are eligible for reappointment.

Chairperson Ms Imelda Smolcic (Uruguay)
  • Australia (Ms Lynda Hayden)
  • Egypt (Mr Haitham Abdelhady)
  • Ethiopia (Mr Kaba Urgessa Dinssa)
  • Japan (Mr Kuraya Yoshihiro)
  • Mexico (Mr Miguel García Winder)
  • Niger (Ms Rahila Rabiou Tahirou)
  • Panama (Mr Tomás Duncan Jurado)
  • Russian Federation (Mr Vladimir Kuznetsov)
  • Saudi Arabia (Mr Mohammed M. Alghamdi)
  • Sweden (Ms Pernilla Ivarsson)2
  • Thailand (Mr Thanawat Tiensin)
  • United States of America (Ms Jennifer Harhigh)1

1/ Ms Jennifer A. Harhigh will be replaced by Ms Elizabeth Petrovski for the 187th session.
2/ Ms Pernilla Ivarsson will be replaced by Mr Petter Nilsson for the 187th session.

Substitute Representatives

View list

Current term of office July 2021 - July 2023
Languages (used during the current mandate) Arabic, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol FC
Frequency of Sessions At least twice a year
Division Finance Division (CSF)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

First Session Committee on Financial Control, December 1947; Finance Committee, March 1958.