Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Programme Committee (CC-703)

Next Session PC - 132nd Session - 8-12 november 2021
Previous Sessions and documents PC - 131st (Special) Session - 29 July 2021
PC - 130th Session - 22-26 March 2021
See more...
Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article V


Established as a "Co-ordinating Committee" by the Conference at its Third Session (1947), and reconstituted at its Sixth Session (1951, Resolution 84/51). In 1957 the name was changed to Programme Committee. Its size and structure were modified by the Conference at its Nineteenth Session (1977, Resolution 15/77) and at its Thirty-sixth Session in 2009 (Resolution 6/2009, C?2009/REP, para. 140).

Rules of Procedure

See Basic Texts, Vol I - Section E, Rules of Procedure of the Programme Committee

Category Cat.1

To assist the Council in carrying out its duties regarding the development and implementation of the Organization's programme activities. Its functions are enumerated in Rule XXVI of the General Rules of the Organization.

Secretary, Programme Committee Ms Jiani TIAN

Representatives of 12 Member Nations and a Chairperson elected by the Council from specific regions as determined by the Conference for the purpose of Council elections. Members of the Committee shall appoint as their representatives individuals who have shown a continued interest in the objectives and activities of the Organization, have participated in Conference or Council sessions and have special competence and experience in economic, social and technical matters pertaining to the various fields of the Organization's activities. Members of the Committee are elected for a period of two years at the session of the Council following the regular session of the Conference and they are eligible for reappointment.

Chairperson Ms Yael Rubinstein (Israel)
  • Argentina (Mr Carlos Bernardo Cherniak)
  • Brazil (Mr Fernando José Marroni de Abreu)
  • Canada (Mr Maarten de Groot)1
  • China (Mr Ni Hongxing)
  • France (Ms Delphine Babin-Pelliard)
  • India (Mr Bommakanti Rajender)
  • Iraq (Mr Zaid Al-Ani)
  • Mali (Ms Traoré Halimatou Koné)
  • New Zealand (Mr Donald Syme)
  • Norway (Mr Morten Aasland)
  • Sudan (Ms Saadia Elmubarak Ahmed Daak)
  • Zambia (Mr Kayoya Masuhwa)

1/ Mr Maarten de Groot was replaced by Ms Julie émond for the 131st Special Session

Substitute Representatives

View List

Current term of office July 2021 - July 2023
Languages (used during the current mandate) Arabic, Chinese, English, French and Spanish
Document symbol PC
Frequency of Sessions Normally twice a year
Contact information/email

[email protected]

First Session Co-ordinating Committee, March 1949; Programme Committee, March 1958.